Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Boys basketball: Ponder loads up 9-2A team

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Judging by the way Ponder’s boys basketball season ended over the weekend in Austin, it’s no surprise to see the way the Lions were represented on the District 9-2A all-district team that was released Monday.

Senior forward Clay Morgan, one of the most dominant post presences in the state, was named the district’s MVP after earning the same honor in the Class 2A state championship game victory that saw him score his 2,000th career point. Morgan was joined on the superlatives list by his teammates Brady Anderson (offensive MVP), Josh Peterson (co-defensive MVP) and freshman guard Chase Harris, who was named the district’s top newcomer. District 9-2A was widely considered one of the best 2A districts in the state with three teams ranked in the top 6 in the final regular-season state poll.

Guyer, which was bounced in the second round of the playoffs for the second straight season, landed two players on the District 5-4A superlative list. Junior guard Sean Choate was named the offensive MVP, and junior guard Kason Kilgore was named co-newcomer of the year with Trophy Club Nelson’s Jeremiah Taylor.

Guyer’s Miles Crawford, a three-year starter for the Wildcats, was named a first-team selection along with Denton’s Adarian Harris and Lake Dallas’ Josh Jackson and Reality Jackson.

In District 9-3A, Sanger’s Tyler Roelofs was named a co-MVP along with Decatur’s Phillip Walker, and Roelofs’ teammate, Joseph Clark, was named the newcomer of the year.

Sanger’s Tanner Thomas, Garrett McLeod and Wilding Smith were named first-team selections along with Krum’s Nick Perches and Jared Cowan.

In District 10-3A, Argyle’s Jonathan Davis was named the offensive MVP as the Eagles landed J.C. Chalk and Chase Kammerer on the first team. Aubrey’s Cole Cannon and Michael Page were selected to the second team.

In District 12-2A, Cory Powell was named a first-team selection, and Ryan’s Ibrahim Logan was a second-team selection on the District 5-5A team.



District 5-5A

MVP — Tyler Williams, Jr., Hebron

Offensive MVP — Xavier Adams, Sr., Flower Mound Marcus

Defensive MVP — Jeremy Hicks, Sr., Hebron

Newcomer of the Year — Diamante Langston, Sr., Lewisville

Coach of the Year — Mark Bishop, Hebron

First team — Jake Feickert, Jr., Flower Mound; Connor Green, Jr., Flower Mound; Landon Goesling, Sr., Coppell; Simi Socks, Sr., Coppell; Justin Montgomery, Sr., Hebron; Connor McClenaghan, Sr., Hebron; Anthony Davis, Jr., Lewisville; Marquis Williams, Jr., Lewisville; Michael Mayhew, Jr., Flower Mound Marcus; Jaxon Holden, Sr., Flower Mound Marcus

Second team — Ibrahim Logan, Jr., Ryan; Colby Cox, Sr., Flower Mound; Cody Carver, Sr., Coppell; Josh Feitl, Sr., Coppell; Michael Wheeler, Jr., Flower Mound Marcus; Kaelin Love, Sr., Lewisville


District 5-4A

MVP — Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Jr., Trophy Club Nelson

Offensive Player of the Year — Sean Choate, Jr., Guyer

Defensive Player of the Year — Momo Hamza, Sr., Fort Worth Brewer

Co-Newcomers of the Year — Kason Kilgore, Jr., Guyer; Jeremiah Taylor, So., Trophy Club Nelson

Coach of the Year — Scott Curran, Trophy Club Nelson

First team — Miles Crawford, Sr., Guyer; T.J. Vasher, So., Wichita Falls Rider; Adarian Harris, Sr., Denton; Thomas Williams, Sr., Trophy Club Nelson; Michael Williams, Sr., Wichita Falls; Garron Nash, Jr., Wichita Falls; Josh Jackson, Sr., Lake Dallas; Reality Jackson, Sr., Lake Dallas; Yanni Noulas, Jr., Fort Worth Brewer

Second team — Max Portman, Sr., Wichita Falls Rider; Josh Jordan, Sr., Guyer; Garrick Reynolds, Jr., Fort Worth Brewer; Cale Popovich, Sr., Trophy Club Nelson; Colton Bagwell, Sr., Azle; DeAmonte Hughes, Jr., Denton; Alex Bagg, Jr., Fort Worth Brewer; Ethan Davis, Sr., Trophy Club Nelson; Mitchell Willard, Jr., Guyer


District 9-3A

Co-MVPs — Phillip Walker, Sr., Decatur; Tyler Roelofs, Sr., Sanger

Offensive MVP — Paul Walker, Sr., Decatur

Defensive MVP — Demetrius Franklin, Sr., Gainesville

Newcomer of the Year — Joseph Clark, So., Sanger

Coach of the Year — Drew Coffman, Decatur

First team — Landon Bond, Sr., Gainesville; Jonathan Mendez, Sr., Gainesville; Tanner Thomas, Sr., Sanger; Wilding Smith, Jr., Sanger; Garrett McLeod, Sr., Sanger; Derrick Stanford, Sr., Bridgeport; Alex Samples, Sr., Bridgeport; Austin Givens, Sr., Decatur; Cain Lowe, Sr., Decatur; Taylor Clayton, Sr., Decatur; Nick Perches, So., Krum; Jared Cowan, So., Krum


District 10-3A

MVP — Zach Brown, Jr., Frisco Lone Star

Offensive MVP — Jonathan Davis, Jr., Argyle

Defensive MVP — Cameron Gooden, Fr., Frisco Lone Star

Newcomer of the Year — D’Quan Waheed, So., Carrollton Ranchview

Coaching Staff of the Year — Frisco Lone Star

First team — J.C. Chalk, So., Argyle; Donovan Minter, Sr., Carrollton Ranchview; Raghib Ismail, Jr., Carrollton Ranchview; Chase Kammerer, Sr., Argyle; Matthew Lewis, Jr., Carrollton Ranchview; Jonathan Clay, Sr., Frisco Lone Star; Preston Schilling, Jr., Frisco Lone Star

Second team — Cole Cannon, Jr., Aubrey; Michael Page, Sr., Aubrey; Jeff Sims, Jr., Celina; Riley Nebeker, So., Celina; Brandon Glenn, Sr., Carrollton Ranchview; Colton Wilkes, Sr., Argyle; M’kyl Bordes, Jr., Frisco Lone Star; Camden Craddock, Jr., Frisco Lone Star; Alex Wade, Sr., Frisco Lone Star


District 9-2A

MVP — Clay Morgan, Sr., Ponder

Offensive MVP — Brady Anderson, So., Ponder

Co-Defensive MVPs — Josh Peterson, Sr., Ponder; Bailey Cockburn, Jr., Brock

Newcomer of the Year — Chase Harris, Fr., Ponder

Coach of the Year — Josh Jones, Millsap

First team — Lance Ewell, Jr., Brock; Harris Jowell, Sr., Brock; Hayden James, Jr., Brock; Colten Wright, So., Peaster; Ty Ballard, Peaster; Landry Norwood, Paradise; Parker Grudt, So., Peaster; Jaxon Martin, Millsap; Dylan Clanin, Millsap; Cameron Sallee, Jr., Ponder

Second team — Micah Thornton, Jr., Brock; Hayden McPherson, Sr., Brock; Aaron Peninger, Jr., Millsap; Draven Tell, So., Peaster; Logan McCarty, Sr., Ponder; Jaret Holt, Paradise; Cash Praethee, Paradise; Eric Stewart, Sr., Peaster; Trace Moran, Boyd; Joe Randall, Alvord; Dathan Kemp, Peaster


District 12-2A

MVP — Josh Quinn, Sr., Sunnyvale

Offensive MVP — Jaelon Clark, Jr., Farmersville

Defensive MVP — Ryan Cottingame, Sr., Sunnyvale

Newcomer of the Year — T.J. Smith, Fr., Gunter

Co-Comeback Player of the Year — Tyson Scott, Sr., Gunter; Jared McMakin, Soph, Van Alstyne

Sixth Man of the Year — Bailey Thorpe, Jr., Van Alstyne

Coach of theYear — Chris Softley, Sunnyvale

First Team — Andrew Simons, Sr., Farmersville; Cory Powell, Sr., Pilot Point; Zach Davis, Sr., Van Alstyne; Anthony Knight, Jr., Gunter; Tyler Brewer, Sr., Gunter; Colin McCaskill, Jr., Van Alstyne; Isaiah Boling, Soph., Van Alstyne; Johnathan Gillispie, Sr., Caddo Mills

Second Team — Lawson Ayo, Soph., Sunnyvale; Mohamed Hamideh, Sr., Sunnyvale; Spencer Grzywacz, Sr., Farmersville; Parker Mason, Sr., Farmersville; Troy Watson, Soph., Gunter; Ryan Nixon, Soph., Leonard; Scott Bratt, Sr., Leonard; Randy Peggs, Sr., Pilot Point; Steven Richter, Sr., Pilot Point; Josh Wardle, Sr., Pilot Point