Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Greater Denton Sports Commission banquet set for Monday

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

Mitch Gaylord, a member of the gold medal-winning United States men’s gymnastics team at the 1984 Olympics, will be the featured speaker at the 12th annual Greater Denton Sports Commission awards banquet on Monday.

Gaylord, in addition to getting a gold medal as a member of the U.S. team, won a silver medal on vault and bronze medals on rings and parallel bars.

The annual event, scheduled for 7 p.m. Monday at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, 1434 Centre Place Drive, honors athletes from Denton and area high schools.

The awards include male and female athlete of the year, with scholarships for the school of their choice. Also, the Jim Bateman Award will be presented by Dr. Michael House. Bateman was a longtime head football coach at Denton.

Athletes being honored include Michael Husbands and Alexandra Shelton of Denton, Xavier Gray and Carissa Sanders of Ryan, Jerrod Heard and Madison Walford of Guyer, Colton Hinnrichs of Argyle, Alyssa Bruton of Aubrey, Brennan Ellis and Mackenzie Ripple of Krum, Jon-Aaron Howell and Rachel Rainwater of Liberty Christian, Clay Morgan and Andie Beer of Ponder, and Jacob Perry and Kayla Askey of Sanger.

Tickets for the event cost $25 per person or $150 for a table of eight and can be purchased at