Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Boys basketball: Guyer, Denton lead way in District 5-4A awards

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

In what was a historic year for the Guyer program, and the best one in recent memory for Denton, the District 5-4A all-district team had plenty of representation from both teams following successful 2012-13 campaigns.

While hot-shooting guard Keyunta Watkins of Trophy Club Byron Nelson wrapped up the district MVP honors, Guyer head coach Grant Long was named Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to a one-loss district campaign and their first district championship in his first year leading the program.

Junior guard Miles Crawford was named the district’s top offensive player, while Denton sophomore Deamonte Hughes was named the district’s top defender.

Lake Dallas junior Reality Jackson was named one of two top newcomers along with Nelson’s Emmanuel Nzekwesi.

Guyer’s Justin Griffin and Zack Duncan were both named to the first team, as were Denton’s Manny Patterson and Michael Jackson. They were joined by Lake Dallas’ Kaleb Wright.

In District 10-3A, Argyle followed up its state championship season in 2012 with yet another district title in 2013 behind 10-3A MVP Zach Dickerson, while the Argyle coaching staff was named the district’s best.

Spencer McCloud and Colton Wilkes represented Argyle on the first team, and they were joined by Aubrey’s Jevon Saylor and freshman Javion Williams.

As Ponder was one loss from returning to Austin for the UIL state tournament, the Lions filled up the District 9-2A team, along with district co-champion Brock, which defeated Ponder in the regional final.

Junior post Clay Morgan was named a co-MVP along with Brock’s Tre Ewell. The two teams’ coaches also shared co-Coach of the Year honors. Ponder landed two more superlatives as Kade Kopp was named the top defender and freshman Brady Anderson won top newcomer honors.

In District 9-3A, Sanger earned two superlatives as Ryler Roelofs was named the district’s top newcomer and Brennan Bloom earned Sixth Man of the Year honors.

They were joined on the first team by teammates Wilding Smith and Tanner Thomas. Krum senior Tanner Rankin also earned first-team honors.

The Ryan Raiders struggled with their move up to the state’s largest classification, going winless in District 5-5A play, but senior guard Gilbert Jackson was named second team.

Pilot Point also had one second-team selection on the 12-2A team, as senior Mason Richey was named to the team.



MVP – Ridge Shipley, Hebron, Sr.

Co-Offensive Players of the Year – Ryan Reibly, Flower Mound, Sr.; Tyler Williams, Hebron, So.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year – Jeff Hicks, Hebron, Sr.; Justin Gammill, Flower Mound, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year – Michael Wheeler, Flower Mound Marcus, So.

Coach of the Year – Mark Bishop, Hebron

First team

Brandon Langley, Flower Mound, Sr.; Jacob Feickert, Flower Mound, So.; Landon Goesling, Coppell, Jr.; Simi Socks, Coppell, Jr.; Jaden Wright, Lewisville, Sr.; Anthony Davis, Lewisville, So.; Jack Holden, Flower Mound Marcus, Jr.; Chase Mortenson, Hebron, Sr.

Second team

Josh Feitl, Coppell, Jr.; Gilbert Jackson, Ryan, Sr.; Connor McClenaghan, Hebron, Jr.; Caleb Loggins, Lewisville, So.; Michael Mayhew, Flower Mound Marcus, So.; Aaron Steele, Flower Mound Marcus, Sr.



MVP – Keyunta Watkins, Sr., Trophy Club Nelson

Offensive Player of the Year – Miles Crawford, Jr., Guyer

Defensive Player of the Year – Deamonte Hughes, So., Denton

Co-Newcomers of the Year – Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Trophy Club Nelson, So.; Reality Jackson, Lake Dallas, Jr.

Coach of the Year – Grant Long, Guyer

First team

Taro Ford, Fort Worth Brewer, Sr.; Cameron Brown, Fort Worth Brewer, Sr.; Slayton Vaughn, Azle, Sr.; Max Portman, Wichita Falls Rider, Jr.; Kaleb Wright, Lake Dallas, Sr.; Manny Patterson, Denton, Sr.; Michael Jackson, Denton, Sr.; Justin Griffin, Guyer, Sr.; Zack Duncan, Guyer, Jr.

Second team

T.J. Vasher, Wichita Falls Rider, Fr.; Sean Choate, Guyer, So.; Thomas Williams, Trophy Club Nelson, Jr.; Lucas McClain, Wichita Falls, Sr.; Josh Jackson, Lake Dallas, Jr.; Adarian Harris, Denton, Jr.; Mitchell Willard, Guyer, So.; Jamie King, Azle, So.; Ryan Daniels, Denton, Sr.



MVP – David Moore, Gainesville, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year – Reese Read, Bridgeport, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year – Parker Slate, Decatur, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year – Ryler Roelofs, Sanger, Jr.

Sixth Man of the Year – Brennan Bloom, Sanger, Jr.

Coach of the Year – Drew Cauffman, Decatur

First team

Austin Givens, Decatur, Jr.; Cameron Mize, Decatur, Jr.; Taylor Clayton, Decatur, Jr.; Denzel Johnson, Gainesville, Sr.; Dequan Wilford, Gainesville, Sr.; Demetris Franklin, Gainesville, Jr.; Jonathan Mendez, Gainesville, Jr.; Cain Lowe, Decatur, Jr.; Wilding Smith, Sanger, So.; Tanner Rankin, Krum, Sr.; Tanner Thomas, Sanger, Jr.



MVP – Zach Dickerson, Argyle, Sr.

Offensive MVP – Dequcelan Bagsby, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.

Defensive MVP – Zach Brown, Frisco Lone Star, So.

Newcomer of the Year – Donovan Minter, Carrollton Ranchview, Jr.

Coaching Staff of the Year – Argyle

First team

Spencer McCloud, Argyle, Sr.; Colton Wilkes, Argyle, Jr.; Charles Venters, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.; Javion Williams, Aubrey, Fr.; Jonathan Clay, Frisco Lone Star, Jr.; Braylin Brown, Celina, Jr.; Jevon Saylor, Aubrey, Jr.

Second team

Eric Washington, Carrollton Ranchview, Sr.; Michael Page, Aubrey, Jr.; Preston Schilling, Frisco Lone Star, So.; Alex Wade, Frisco Lone Star, Jr.; DeShawn Davis, Celina, Jr.; Chase Kammerer, Argyle, Jr.; Jonathan Davis, Argyle, So.; Bry’len Williams, Aubrey, Sr.



Co-MVP – Tre Ewell, Brock, Sr.; Clay Morgan, Ponder, Jr.

Offensive MVP – Ty Ballard, Peaster, Jr.

Defensive MVP – Kade Kopp, Ponder, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year – Brady Anderson, Ponder, Fr.

Sixth Man of the Year – Draven Tell, Peaster, Fr.

Co-Coaches of the Year – Jude Stanley, Ponder; Jeff Bell, Brock

First team

Casen Baker, Alvord, Sr.; Justin Tyree, Boyd, Sr.; Lane Ewell, Brock, So.; Dylan Carrington, Brock, Sr.; Lane Southern, Brock, Sr.; Grant Boxell, Ponder, Sr.; Reid Sanders, Ponder, Sr.; Josh Peterson, Ponder, Sr.; Keaton Hickman, Paradise, Sr.; Jarret Holt, Paradise, Jr.; Josh Petermeier, Peaster, Sr.; Parker Grudt, Peaster, Fr.

Second team

Micah Broadstreet, Ponder, Sr.; Jaxon Martin, Millsap, Jr.; Bailey Cockburn, Brock, So.; Luke Hummel, Brock, Sr.; Josiah Bingaman, Peaster, Sr.; Chris Carmona, Boyd, Jr.; Kyler Christian, Paradise, Sr.; Landry Norwood, Paradise, So.; Joe Randall, Alvord, So.; Dalyn Clanin, Millsap, So.



MVP – J’Tyus Clark, Farmersville, Sr.

Offensive MVP – Thomas Wendt, Sunnyvale, Sr.

Co-Defensive MVP – Tyler Turner, Leonard, Sr.; Josh Quinn, Sunnyvale, Jr.

Sixth Man of the Year – Matthew Wilson, Leonard, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year – Jaelon Clark, Farmersville, So.

Coach of the Year – Courtney Christenson, Farmersville

First team

Andrew Simons, Farmersville, Jr.; Damien Newby, Caddo Mills, Sr.; J Bailey, Gunter, Sr.; Blake Hicks, Leonard, Sr.; Stephen Kirven, Sunnyvale, Sr.

Second team

Dax Hill, Caddo Mills, Jr.; Keith Craddock, Farmersville, Sr.; Josh Hill, Gunter, Jr.; Tyson Scott, Gunter, Jr.; Storm Taylor, Leonard, Sr.; Mason Richey, Pilot Point, Sr.; Zach Davis, Van Alstyne, Jr.