Softball: Sanger pair earns all-state recognition

Comments () A Text Size

The Texas Sports Writers Association announced its all-state softball teams Monday, and Sanger seniors Morgan Turkoly and Kelly Mardones received honorable mention on the Class 3A squad.

Turkoly, a shortstop, is headed to Louisiana Tech. She was the Denton Record-Chronicle 2014 All-Area Softball Team most valuable player and helped lead the Lady Indians to a 28-11 record and the regional semifinals. She finished the season with a .565 batting average, 11 home runs, 11 doubles, 43 RBIs and 39 runs.

Mardones was the DRC pitcher of the year. She finished the 2014 campaign with a 26-7 record in 199 innings pitched, including a 1.73 ERA during Sanger’s playoff run. She struck out 225 batters this year.

— Staff report

TSWA All-State Team


Coach of the year: Carrie Austgen, Deer Park

Player of the year: Payton McBride, Deer Park

First Team

Pitcher — Payton McBride, Deer Park; Abby Langkamp, The Woodlands; Kayla Ober, Katy Cinco Ranch

Catcher — Hailey Rebar, San Antonio Holmes

First base — Kamerie Vidales, San Antonio Southwest

Second base — Morgan Watson, Arlington Martin

Shortstop — Aubrey Leach, The Woodlands

Third base — Rhonda Jarvis, Deer Park

Utility — Caitlin Plocheck, Deer Park

Outfield — Haley Harrison, Deer Park; Merris Schroeder, Cy-Fair; Carley Haizlip, Midlothian

Second Team

Pitcher — Christina Biggerstaff, Cy-Fair; Shelby McGlaun, Atascocita; Lexi Smith, Temple

Catcher — Nicole Shedd, Converse Judson

First base — Alyson Bishoff, Belton

Second base — Sidney Salmans, The Woodlands

Shortstop — Morgan McCallum, Mesquite Horn

Third base — Alex Walkden, Cibolo Steele

Utility — Rylie Spell, Pearland

Outfield — Sarah Rocha, El Paso Montwood; Kelli Martinez, Katy Cinco Ranch; Caroline Flores, Edinburg North

Third Team

Pitcher — Ashley Moore, Mesquite Horn; Mariah Denson, Mansfield Timberview; Maribeth Gorsuch, Lewisville

Catcher — Marcela Vasquez, El Paso Franklin

First base — Kaitlyn Washington, Atascocita

Second base — Tyler Galena, Deer Park

Shortstop — Kristen Cuyos, Pearland

Third base — Kylar Flowers-Ward, San Antonio MacArthur

Utility — Kaitlyn Jones, Belton

Outfield — Karli Hamilton, Katy Cinco Ranch; De’Zha Scott, Spring; Lindsey Stewart, Pearland


Coach of the year: Jeff Lemons, Aledo

Player of the year: Lauren Craine, Aledo

First Team

Pitcher — Lauren Craine, Aledo; Taylor Maliska, Ennis, Cassidy Ferrill, Hallsville

Catcher — Haleigh Madden, Buda Hays

First base — Chickie Cook, Aledo

Second base — Rhylie Makawe, Aledo

Shortstop — Michaela Cochran, Ennis

Third base — Alexus Huffman, Waller

Utility — Rylee Rodriguez, Pearland Dawson

Outfield — Haylee Bowden, Aledo; Julia Hollingsworth, Ennis; Megan Harris, Whitehouse

Second Team

Pitcher — Sarah Leal, Buda Hays; Kylee DeCock, Medina Valley; Hannah Holt, Leander

Catcher — Alli Ramsey, Aledo

First base — Melinda Parish, Medina Valley

Second base — K’leigh Arrendondo, Frenship

Shortstop — Allie Arneson, Aledo

Third base — Sarah Barker, Mont Belvieu Barbers Hill

Utility — Megan Mason, Aledo

Outfield — Chelsey Caldwell, Barbers Hill; Brianna Gonzalez, El Paso Chapin; Kendall Burton, Ridge Point

Third Team

Pitcher — Kayleigh Williams, Georgetown; Dalilah Barrera, Mercedes; Kristen Clark, Foster

Catcher — Morgan Dufour, Red Oak

First base — Daniella Chavez, Crowley

Second base — Erin Houthoofd, Barbers Hill

Shortstop — Madison Montgomery, Burleson Centennial

Third base — Riley Sartain, Aledo

Utility — Olivia Buckaloo, El Paso Andress

Outfield — Niki Turner, Pearland Dawson; Julie Ann Rawls, Hallsville; Angelica Arroyo, Buda Hays


Coach of the year: Arthur Behrend, La Grange

Player of the year: Missy Zoch, La Grange

First Team

Pitcher — Missy Zoch, La Grange; Erica Wright, Huntington; Casey Montalvo, Devine

Catcher — Alexis Elizondo, Celina

First base — Kylee Moore, Van

Second base — Briana Angel, La Grange

Shortstop — Alyssa Angel, La Grange

Third base — Taylor Hinojos, Snyder

Utility — Jamie Madison, Groesbeck

Outfield — Blake-Ann Fritsch, La Grange; Bailey Sousa, Huffman Hargrave; Hallee Carter, Van

Second Team

Pitcher — Kylee Jo Trahan, Burkburnett; Alexa O’Brien, Pampa; Casey Kauder, Caldwell

Catcher — Reagan Renken, Yoakum

First base — Callie Witte, Yoakum

Second base — Ebonee Marquez, Devine

Shortstop — Lindzi Clemmer, Snyder

Third base — Matti Johnson, Celina

Utility — Annie Mehringer, Kilgore

Outfield — Vanessa Escamilla, Burnet, Ashlynn Mayfield, Stephenville; Tanna Huie, North Lamar

Third Team

Pitcher — Adrianna Hernandez, Snyder; Kristi Springer, Bullard; Samantha Clakley, Carthage

Catcher — Hatti Moore, La Grange

First base — Rachel Miller, Rusk

Second base — Megan Mitchell, Huffman Hargrave

Shortstop — Maddison Kettler, West

Third base — Makayla Smith, Princeton

Utility — Autumn McKinney, Van

Outfield — Madi O’Neal, Huffman Hargrave; Kaylee Strickland, Princeton; Brittney Gonzalez, Pampa

Honorable Mention

Pitcher — Nicole Gandy, Van; Megan Unroe, Huffman Hargrave; Tori Ramert, Yoakum; Mariah Holum, Sealy; Kelly Mardones, Sanger; Khandi Breaux, Orangefield; Kilee Halbert, Dalhart; Julie Nicole Cuz, Carisso Springs; Hali Wisnoskie, Columbus; Lauren Myers, Sweeny; Ashley Cantu, Frisco Lone Star; Rikkilyn Hass, Mineola

Outfield — Sheyanne Chumchal, Yoakum; ShannonBrown, Sealy; Kelsey Lemus, Brownsboro; Lauren Wernet, West; Jasmine Walker, Pittsburg; Ashley Cantu, Frisco Lone Star; Kelsey Angelot, Orangefield; Alyssa Tabion, Burkburnett; Madelyn Modisette, Pollok Central; Kelly Mardones, Sanger; Chelsea Daniels, Rusk; Allison Florez, Andrews


Coach of the year: Kirk Allen, Crawford

Player of the year: Sydney Christensen, Crawford

First Team

Pitcher — Carrigan Chambers, Crawford; Jordan Anderson, Hawley; Samantha Show, East Bernard

Catcher — Sydney Christensen, Crawford

First base — Shyenne Hicks, Salado

Second base — Tori Phillips, Crawford

Shortstop — Morgan Groppe, Crawford

Third base — Kelbi Fortenberry, East Bernard

Utility — Morgan Urbanczyk, Poth

Outfield — Jessica Tomchesson, Crawford; Camille Grahmann, Hallettsville; Angelica Lopez, East Bernard

Second Team

Pitcher — Mariah Nichols, Lone Oak; Mary Moran, Caddo Mills; Charlene Castro, Natalia

Catcher — Kaylee Isenburg, Lone Oak

First base — Gabbi Jimenez, Riviera

Second base — Matti Dix, Bushland

Shortstop — Jayden Mount, Sabine

Third base — Tylia Sylestine, Sabine

Utility — Mercedes Covey, Rogers

Outfield — Heather Isbell, Hawley; Lauren Pape, Poth; Claudia Figueroa, Natalia

Third Team

Pitcher — Coco Caraway, Hallettsville Madison Garza, Industrial; Sarah Johnson, Mount Vernon

Catcher — Alyssa Reyes, East Bernard

First base — Katie Welch, Bushland

Second base — Vanessa Rubio, Hawley

Shortstop — Ashlin Roach, Hughes Springs

Third base — Madison Faber, White Oak

Utility — Meaghen Seales, Blanco

Outfield — Karley Hugghins, White Oak; Courtney Lindsey, Elkhart; Linsey Tomlinson, Godley


Comments is now using Facebook Comments. To post a comment, log into Facebook and then add your comment below. Your comment is subject to Facebook's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service on data use. If you don't want your comment to appear on Facebook, uncheck the 'Post to Facebook' box. To find out more, read the FAQ .
Copyright 2011 Denton Record-Chronicle. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.