Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

TWU athletics: Two individuals, team earn TWU Hall honor

Profile image for Staff report
Staff report

The TWU Athletics Hall of Fame is set to induct two former softball student-athletes, Teresa Flores and Jami Ingram, along with the first Team of Distinction, the 1979 TWU softball team that won the AIAW national championship.

The inaugural Hall of Fame class was inducted in 1994 and there are currently 34 members in the Hall, with Flores and Ingram becoming the eighth and ninth former softball student-athletes.

A reception followed by the banquet and ceremony will be held Oct. 13 beginning at 5:30 p.m. in Hubbard Hall.

Flores, a shortstop who played from 2000-04, ended her career as a four-time all-conference selection and a two-time all-region selection. In 2004, she was named a third-team All-American by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association and was the Lone Star Conference South Division Player of the Year.

“Teresa was one of the most prolific hitters at TWU, and opponents feared her,” former TWU softball head coach and Hall of Famer Dianne Baker said. “She was the first one at practice and last one to leave and worked tirelessly to get better at the game.”

Flores was also the recipient of the 2004 TWU President’s Award, the highest honor given to a current student-athlete. She served as a student assistant coach at TWU during the 2004-05 season.

“It is truly an honor to be recognized and inducted into the Hall of Fame along with so many great, inspiring women,” Flores said. “Texas Woman’s University is so rich in tradition and pride because of the environment that the university has established over the past 100 years. I feel very lucky and proud to say I have graduated from Texas Woman’s University.”

During Ingram’s career (2001-03), she was named a third-team All-American as a designated hitter by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association in 2002, and earned first-team All-America honors as a catcher in 2003. She also was named the 2003 Diamond Sports Catcher of the Year for NCAA Division II.

“Jami was the quarterback of the team,” Baker said. “She was a smart player with power on offense and very good skills on defense. She was fun to watch on both offense and defense.”

She served as a student assistant coach at TWU from 2003-04 and then as a graduate assistant coach from 2004-05.

“I’m equally honored and humbled to be inducted into the Texas Woman’s University Athletics Hall of Fame,” Ingram said. “My time at TWU as a player and coach was a very memorable experience. My coaches, teachers and teammates helped shape the person, coach and teacher I am today.”

The Hall of Fame Committee introduced the Team of Distinction as a new designation for which a team must show evidence of exceptional accomplishments at or above the conference level, including advancement to regional or national competition, regional or national titles, school records or undefeated seasons.

The 1979 softball team won TWU’s only softball national championship in the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women World Series. TWU Hall of Famer Kathy Arendsen led the Pioneers, going 6-1 with a 0.00 ERA, 77 strikeouts, five complete games and five shutouts during the tournament.

After defeating South Carolina in the first round and Arizona State in the second round, the Pioneers suffered their only loss to Cal Poly Pomona 1-0 in the third round.

TWU advanced to the championship through the losers bracket, eliminating Indiana, Northern Colorado and Cal Poly Pomona en route to facing UCLA. The Pioneers defeated the Bruins twice — both by 1-0 scores — to win the national title.