Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Middle school football: Long TD runs lift Calhoun to district championship

Two long touchdowns were enough to lift the Calhoun eighth-graders to a 12-8 A-team win over Lake Dallas for the district championship.

Tyreke Davis, who rushed for 127 yards, scored on a 39-yard run, and Caleb Osuafa scored from 42 yards out to give the Cougars (7-0-1) their second straight district title.

Other offensive contributors were Jason Gulley with 86 yards on three carries and Elijah Garz with 36 yards on five carries.

On defense, Delano Robinson and Elijah Harris each had six tackles and Thomas Wilson and Trendarius had five apiece.


Calhoun eighth-grade B 18, Lake Dallas 12

Tony Rosales scored on runs of 12, 32 and 26 yards to lead Calhoun to victory against Lake Dallas.

Rosales had an interception, while Eric Perez had 12 tackles and Adrian Galvez and Chris Lopez each had eight for the Cougars (6-1-1).


McMath eighth-grade A 16, Navo 6

McMath finished the season on a high note by posting a victory over Navo.

The Tigers (4-4) got a 1-yard rushing touchdown from C.J. Herrera, who had 85 yards rushing, and an extra point from Juan Reyna. Austin Llanes later threw a 16-yard TD pass to Alex Goff.

Helping lead the way for McMath was Troy Valdary with a blocked punt and a fumble recovery. Jacob Benjamin caused a fumble and Wyatt Folsom had a tackle for a safety.

Navo won the B-team game 26-6. For the Tigers, Conner Cocchiarella caught a 25-yard TD pass from Devon Patel and had an interception on defense.


Harpool eighth-grade A 18, Little Elm 14

Logien Franklin rushed for 139 yards and scored on runs of 48 and 16 yards to power Harpool.

The Longhorns (5-3) also got a 1-yard TD run from Josh Viera.

Little Elm won the B-team game 6-0.


McMath seventh-grade A 8, Little Elm 6

LITTLE ELM — Visiting McMath got some revenge with a thrilling victory. In the first game between the schools seven weeks ago, Little Elm posted a 33-6 win.

For the Tigers (2-5-1), Tyrus Johnson, who rushed for 82 yards, scored on a 7-yard run and Diego Soriano kicked the extra point.

Other McMath contributors were Jeovanni Dodson with 52 yards rushing, Dylan Watson with a kickoff strip, Juan Rabgo with a fumble recovery and strong defensive efforts from Wilson Strange, Cody Wilkinson and Johnson.

Little Elm won the B-team game 32-12. For McMath, Christian Prescott and Christian Garcia had rushing touchdowns.


Crownover seventh-grade A 13, Harpool 12

Led by two rushing touchdowns from Trevon Turner, Crownover posted a narrow win against Harpool.

For the Cowboys (5-3), Bryce Shanklin, Connor Riddle and Trent Ponsonby had interceptions. The defensive line of Jakob Machuca, Michael Sustaita, J.T. Thompson, Brandon Hulan, Garrett Keuer and Dylan Bourey controlled the line of scrimmage.

Crownover’s offensive line was anchored by Arian Bhat, Justin Nicholson, Grayson Wingate, Michael Martinez and Kyle Ingram.

Harpool won the B-team game 20-6. For Crownover (2-6), Hunter Wright threw a 32-yard TD pass to Josh Burgess.


Calhoun seventh-grade A 24, Strickland 21

Calhoun marched itself to a district championship on the legs of Adrian Wilson.

Wilson, who rushed for 206 yards on 14 carries, scored on runs of 42 and 27 yards and caught a 22-yard TD pass from Tino Rodriguez.

For the Cougars (8-0), Wilson had 12 tackles, Gabe Douglass had eight, Jordan Rucker had seven and Hector Salazar four.


Strickland seventh-grade B 12, Calhoun 12

Strickland and Calhoun battled hard and had to settle for a tie.

Alejandro Mora scored two touchdowns and rushed for more than 100 yards for Strickland (3-3-2). Mora scored on runs of 60 and 70 yards.

For the Cougars, Isiah Johnson scored on runs of 32 and 12 yards.